Other stuff, Inspo

12 Days of Supporting Local

  • 3 min read
Dec 7, 2020

Times are tough, and more than ever, it’s important to support our neighbours. To spread some local love, we’ve curated a list of our favourite Calgary-based shops to help you shop, eat, drink, dress (and gift!) local this holiday season.

1. Home goods shops

  • Steeling Home – A collection of treasures and surprises @steelinghome
  • Fieldstudy – Thoughtfully selected, well-made goods @fieldstudyshop
  • Adrianmartinus – Custom furniture and homewares made from new and repurposed wood @adrianmartinus

2. Apparel shops

3. Music & book shops

  • Shelf Life – Cute shop with lots of character and a great selection of books @shelflifebooks
  • Fair’s Fair – Quality used books and magazines @fairsfairyyc
  • Sloth Records – New and used LPs, CDs, 7″s, 10″s, turntables and more @slothrecords

4. Plant shops

  • Peaseblossoms – Floral design, sustainably grown flowers and plants @peaseblossomsflowers
  • Plant – Houseplants, terrariums, workshops, florals, natural artwork, & quality handmade goods @plantshopyyc
  • Amborella Floral – Burlap bouquets, vase arrangements, flower crowns and terrariums @amborellafloral

5. Restaurants

  • The Allium – Cooperatively owned, plant-based restaurant @alliumcalgary
  • Paper Lantern – Viet cocktail bar tucked away in Chinatown @paperlanternyyc
  • Shiki Menya – Ramen—fresh noodles daily, amazing broth @shikimenya
  • Gift cards – A great way to support your favourite haunt

6. More apparel—there’s just so much!

7. Eco & animal friendly shops

  • The Apothecary – Refillery and zero waste destination @apothecaryyyc
  • The Grinning Goat – All the vegan things. 1% of sales go to The Alice Foundation @thegrinninggoatyyc
  • Without Co. – Luxury low waste lifestyle shop and refillery @withoutcoyyc

8. Pet shops

  • Doggo – Healthy treats, collars, hoodies, toys and more @doggoyyc
  • Pawsitively Natural – Natural pet food and supply @pawsitivelynatural
  • Urban Dog Market – Specializing in health food and hip gear for the urban dog @urbandogmarket

9. Random shops

10. Food shops

  • Silk Road Spice Merchants – Fine spices, herbs and seasonings @silkroadspices
  • Peasant Cheese Shop – Everything you need for a delectable cheese board @peasantcheese
  • Blue Door Oil & Vinegar – Antioxidant-rich, extra-virgin olive oils @bluedoorcalgary
  • Tea Trader – Importer and retailer of fine loose tea @tea.trader

11. Liquor shops

  • Highlander Liquor – Great selection and knowledgable staff @highlanderwine
  • Vine Arts – Specialty booze purveyors @vinearts
  • Long Hop Brewing – Calgary based craft beer with Aussie roots @longhopbrewing

12. Sweet shops

No Results